Turn that frown upside down

by LP

Yesterday, I wasn’t feeling my best. I was tired, I felt flu-ish and was trying to translate my way (Dutch to English no less) through an article that was, let’s be nice here, not so well written. By the time The Big Kahuna (a.k.a. my mom) dropped by, I was in a serious state of blugh.

Me, ranting: “I’m so f*cking tired of this IAMSTERDAM-sign that has been blocking my view for 2 weeks now…”
The Big Kahuna, interrupting me: “When do you EVER look out the window?”
Me, Le Curmudgeon: “THAT’S NOT THE POINT! It’s the ~principle~! And it attracts noisy tourists with their bikes and their pictures and their climbing on the damn thing at 3 am!”
TBK: “If you can’t beat them, join them.”
Me: “WTF?!”
TBK: “Where’s your camera? It’s picture time!”
Me: “Are you serious?!”
TBK: “Do you have a balaclava?”
Me, starting to see what she was getting at: “Unfortunately not, but I do have my multipurpose-scarf?”

