Preparing for The Sketchbook Project

by LP

Time flies when you’re studying English apparently, ‘cause in 2 ½ weeks it’s…ta-dah! Winter Break*! Which means that (asides from studying like a mofo for my exams in January of course) I’ll FINALLY have time to start working on my sketchbook for The Sketchbook Project, which has been lying around here since the end of August and is still completely blank.

I have thought a lot about what I want to do with it and how I’m going to do that. Since drawing isn’t my strongest point (understatement of the century), I’ll have to find other ways to get my message across. I don’t want to just use text for two reasons: 1) it’s a sketchbook, not a notebook; 2) I’m trying to push myself out of my comfort zone and do something I’ve never done before. And I’ve done text. Lots of it. 5 NaNoWriMo’s of it. And then some.

Looking at what people did last year has proven to be very helpful. People interpret the same theme in completely different ways, some keep it very literal while others seem to barely adhere to the theme at all. And then there’s the multitude of styles and techniques used, from minimalistic to very elaborate. I haven’t decided yet what techniques and materials I’m going to use, but it’s nice to get an idea of the possibilities and to ‘think outside the box’. Or cage, if you’re a rat.

I was going to elaborate on the theme I chose (“Encyclopedia of”) and what I’m going to do with it, but this post is already reaching tl;dr, so I’ll write a separate post about that later this week.

* Or “Christmas Break” as they stubbornly keep calling it here.

