LP’s excellent staycation – Day 16

by LP

So, that 24 hour zine I started? I didn’t finish it.

For those who have no clue: you’re supposed to plan, make and print a 24 page zine in 24 hours. By the time I’d reached hour 7, I only had 5 pages done. Which left me with two options: speed up my tempo times 4-and-something and make a very hurried zine I wouldn’t be happy with, or decide that this idea I had was too elaborate for a 24 hour zine and decide to finish it some other time.

Since I’ve officially signed up for the 24 hour zine thing, I will try again before the end of this month. It will be quite a challenge to find a topic that interests me enough to write about, but that is also “restricted” enough. What did me in during my previous attempt was that I had Too Much To Say and was going all over the place. Which isn’t really a problem usually, because I just edit things to fit as soon as I start laying out, but with the 24 hour zine challenge you don’t have time for that: it’s pretty much a one-draft thing. Well, to me it is, because I’m also a very slow writer.

So, in short: first attempt at the 24 hour zine thing was unsuccessful in terms of finishing a zine, but I learned what not to do the next time AND I’ve done 5 pages on a zine that I will be finishing later. *mumbles something about it being a ~learning experience~ and then starts laughing out loud to herself for being so corny*

