LP’s excellent staycation – Day 30

by LP

Today was going to be the day in which I tried to write a zine for the 24 hour zine thing again, but I was too annoyed with Everything In General. For the people thinking “Well, write about THAT!”: nah. There’s enough whining and complaining in the world already, there’s really no need for me to add to that. So yeah, I don’t know what’s going to happen with my 24 hour zine thing. I might try again tomorrow or just let it go. I’ll see.

Instead of writing, I decided to sort through the 3 half-meter high (that’s a little less than 20 inches for the non-metric peeps) piles of notes, hand outs and printed stuff I’ve accumulated during the last year at university. I managed to throw 99% away, it’s not like I’m ever going to look through the 50+ pages of parse trees I drew last semester. Since I was on a roll, I then undid my reference works from their sticky notes and checked which books I do and don’t need next year.

It’s strange: 6 weeks ago I was still doing exams and in 5 weeks I will be back at university, but it’s like that is somebody else’s life completely. Last week, someone asked me “So, what do you do?” and I really had to think. The fact that I finished the first year of my studies still hasn’t really registered apparently: while sorting through my notes I kept thinking “Wait, I can’t throw that away, I still need to pass that cla… no wait, I did pass that class already”. I wonder if this will be different next semester or if it’ll only register that I’ve Done Something when I (hopefully!) get my diploma in two years.

No, I don’t know what I’m trying to say with this post either. It’s just one of these days I guess. Throwing out things did feel good though, so I think I’ll be doing a bit more of that now.

