LP’s excellent staycation – Day 40

by LogPoes

What do you do when you have things you should be finishing, but you don’t want to work on those things for reasons not-quite-known and if known probably too personal?

Exactly! You just start doing something else!

So instead of getting a move on and finishing one of the three half-finished zines I have lying around here, I decided that it would be a great idea to choose another activity from my absurdly long to do list and start translating my most popular Dutch solozine De Levensvreugd into English. To the peeps that are now going “Most popular… wait… isn’t De Levensvreugd your ONLY Dutch solozine?!” I’d like to say “details schmetails”.

Anyway, I started translating and by page 3 I realised I had a huge problem: the voice was completely off. What reads as a tongue-in-cheek, funny, maybe-even-quirky-though-I-HATE-that-word personal zine written by a sorta kinda catlike person about how I found and bring The Happy in Dutch, reads as a bitchy, my-way-or-the-highway borefest written by a humorless straight edge *sshole know-it-all in English. Yeah, not really what I was going for.

I’ve translated (Dutch to English) before, so I know that things get lost in translation, but I’ve never had to deal with this level of “This doesn’t convey the essence of the original AT ALL”. So I guess I’ll have to rewrite it completely. Or just give up on the damn thing altogether and go do something useful with my life. *goes off to bed to read a book*

