Happy 2013!

by LP

I know, I know, we’re almost half way through the month already, but it’s still January, so new years wishes still count. If 2012 was an awesome year for you, I hope 2013 continues to be awesome. If 2012 was kinda blegh, I hope that 2013 turns out significantly more awesome. And if 2012 completely sucked, then I hope that 2013 will be immeasurably more awesome.

As you might have noticed, I’ve been absent for a while. Besides finally finishing The Summer zine I didn’t do any writing or other projects and while the internet break felt good, not doing anything non-university related was most definitely NOT a good idea. Especially since, and unfortunately there’s no way to write this without sounding like the huge privileged asshole I am, this third semester turned out even more of a disappointment than the first two. Yes, I didn’t think it was possible either.

I’m not going to go further into the exact why’s and how’s right now, because it is all majorly upsetting. I am just now back at a point at which continuing to pursue my studies does not feel like the most useless and frustrating thing ever and I’m afraid that if I make a detailled lists of Reasons Why My Studies S*ck And Why I REALLY Don’t Want To Be There Anymore, I will just go “F*ck that sh*t!” and never return. Which would be a perfectly fine decision if I had something else to do and/or somewhere else to go, but I don’t. And voluntarily dropping out of university into unemployment is just not a good idea. Especially not at 37.

Because (and we’re moving onto a happier note!) despite sounding like an emo high schooler who ~duzn’t lyk skool~, I did turn 37 on the 18th of December. I celebrated by buying deodorant. And shimmery tights. And green contact lenses. Which I proceeded to wear to the department’s Christmas Drinks. I was also wearing false lashes, a crapton of make up/glitter, glittery mega high heels and this Margiela for H&M dress

ImagePicture stolen from the internets.

The people in the know (like my teacher JL, who is not only a great teacher, but also an awesome human being and one of the 4 reasons I haven’t dropped out yet) thought I looked very stylish, the rest of them were probably wondering what that 6 foot 1 glittery raccoon dressed in a bag was doing at their Christmas function. I was glad that my friend Schildpad was also there and also very glittery!

In further happier news: it’s 3 days before the deadline and guess who’s only just started on her entry for The Sketchbook Project 2013? Yup, me! Thankfully I’m doing a photo log this year, the photo’s are all shot and printed, so all I have to do is… the rest. *goes to work*

