How the class was

by LP

Although it feels like a month ago because it’s one of those weeks in which everything you’ve been waiting months for happens at the same time because The Powers that Be woke up from hibernation apparently, it has been less than a week since I taught my class.

So, how was it? Well, quite a lot of people showed up. “24 people and me” according to The Big Kahuna, who is a wizard when it comes to counting the amount of people within a group in one go. Though some people had to leave earlier, nobody walked out unexpectedly. And most importantly: nobody threw things at me and I didn’t have to throw stuff at people, so I think we can say it was a success! But seriously, things went well. Of course I did beat myself up for hours afterwards for not remembering ONE F#@CKING WORD, because apparently becoming less of a neurotic special snowflake is a process with ups and downs. But now that I’m a bit further removed from it, I am okay with it all.

At first, I was afraid (I was petrified…) that I didn’t have enough material for a two hour class, but I ended up having to cut some examples due to time constraints. Thankfully, they weren’t really needed anyway, because everybody understood what they were supposed to do. I think that was the hardest part of the preparation: since the sessions are on a drop in basis and everybody is welcome, you never quite know how much explanation is needed. Though there were a couple of new visitors, none of them were absolute beginners, so the group was at quite a level, uh, level.

People were very receptive and some intense writing and rewriting was done, which was the point of the session, and I even got a couple of ladies to read out loud, so yay. Also, I might at some point have done a very toned down version of the Snoopy dance when somebody Got It. But let’s keep that between ourselves, okay?

So, in short: class done, people happy, f*ck yeah.
And now on to the next challenge: I have been cast (well, actually I cast myself, but that sounds way more Orson Welles than I’m comfortable with) as Witch #1 in Macbeth. Yes, I will be acting… I’m quite sure it’s going to be… interesting.

