Summer Bloggin’ Day 6: Nails & Thoughts (while waiting for the nails to dry) (part 2)

by LP

Part 1 can be found here.

So while in London I of course bought some new nail polishes, because I am a shopaholic, basically. Have a lovely “definitely staged and reworked to make the colours seem more like they actually are”-picture:

Barry M polishes

From left to right we have 356 Berry Cosmo, 349 Rose Quartz Glitter (this is a re-buy), 273 Raspberry and 421 Bikini, which is a limited edition gift with purchase colour. It’s also really pretty.

Of course I again had some wonderfully random thoughts while waiting for the polish to dry, that will most likely prove that I just don’t understand life, really. Here we go!

– For the longest time, I thought Sex and the City was a comedy, as in: a parody. Apparently it’s not, and there are heaps of women who take it very seriously and who aspire to be like the ladies in the series. This still baffles me like whoa.

– In the same vein: all those misogynistic “b*tches on my d*ck”-type lyrics? I thought they were ~ironic~, in the sense of “what is the most offensive thing I can think of to say?”, and then say it. You know, a bit like school kids yell “Pooop!” and feel like they’re all cool ‘n shit? Or maybe I was right and it is? Is there somebody out there who knows more about this lyrical phenomenon?

– Semi-related because lyric-y: the Rum Tum Tugger out of the musical Cats. Apparently, he’s “a curious cat”. This statement is backed up by the following lyrics

“If you offer me pheasant, I’d rather have grouse
If you put me in a house, I would much prefer a flat
If you put me in a flat, then I’d rather have a house
If you set me on a mouse, then I only want a rat
If you set me on a rat, then I’d rather chase a mouse”

Uhm, no. Everyone who’s ever been around a cat can tell you this only proves that the Rum Tug Tugger is a completely ordinary cat. A terrible bore that is always on the wrong side of every door: yes. But not a curious cat. Thinking about this also reminded me how I absolutely loathe Cats the musical and how disgustingly catchy it is.

But what I mostly thought about was how useless it was that I was doing my nails, as I’m starting a week of screenprinting workshops tomorrow. Oh well…

