State of the Studies

by LogPoes

Just one more paper to write this week and I’ll be done with this semester. All together now: yay! Next week however, the first block of the second semester starts, so apart from writing the paper, I will also have to start preparing for that.

I’ll be taking two classes, one will be a repeat (Shakespeare) and the other will be a “start up your thesis”-class. I already  have a general idea of what I want to write about, so I’m on schedule with that. Let’s hope I manage to find a supervisor who is into my idea, or if not, that I figure out something else to write about quickly, as I have to hand in a quarter of the thesis at the end of block 1, which is in 8 weeks.

Block 2 starts immediately after that and it will be a super busy block for me: not only does the Shakespeare class continue, I will also start two other classes. One (modern and contemporary literature) I’ve already taken and Creative Writing, which is a completely new class. On top of that there’s still a long-lingering exam from last year that I need to do sometime in May. It should all be possible if I stay healthy and/or don’t freak the f*ck out, so I’ll be checking myself as not to be wrecking myself.

I am really looking forward to the next semester starting, as it will be the semester in which I finish up the largest bulk of what I still have to do, leaving only a thesis and the class I dropped last semester to be done in the next academic year. Strangely enough, I’m actually starting to sort of enjoy the process, probably because it’s finally a manageable amount of work: my “Things to be done to get degree”-document where I detail each and every mini quiz, test, essay, paper, and presentation I still need to do, is now only 2 1/2 pages long! Yes, this is including the class where they make us take 26 tests to get to one grade. Yes, that is excessive, but in line with my debittering, I’ve decided to not let myself get annoyed with it. But yes, in short: it’s still a lot of work, but the end is in sight, and I’m actually quite stoked for the coming months.

