How this year was (recap time!)

by LogPoes

Fear not, I am well aware of the fact that today is not Sunday. I was however waiting for all my grades and points to be registered before writing my annual “How this year went” post, as I did not want to jinx things, and for reasons unknown it took until today for that to happen. The registering, not the jinxing. It’s safe to assume the teachers were also struck by the Horrid Heat™ we had around here last week.

The excellent news is that I have passed all my classes. All together now: yay! This means that in the coming academic year, I will only have to write my thesis and take philosophy of science, and I’ll be done.

This academic year was the most, for lack of a better word, enjoyable to date: I was reasonably healthy (no huge health issues) and therefore managed to adhere to all my deadlines without having to ask for any extensions. It was of course still too much work, way too fragmented and hardly ever in depth enough for me, but I realise that I’ve gotten better at just accepting that this is the way things are during this phase in my life, and that it’s not going to be like this forever.

The fact that I wasn’t sick and/or exhausted all the time made it a lot easier to deal with the occasional frustration and sense of “this is all SO useless” that I did feel, and it also made managing my exam terror about 97% easier. On top of that, I even got to do things that I actually enjoy: a linguistic research project, acting (using this word very loosely) and writing. If all else fails, I can – and will! – use the fact that I was part of the first creative writing class ever taught at the UvA as my claim to fame.

For the next semester, I’m hoping to keep up the good health and good work. In the next few weeks I will be working on projects that I did not get to during the year, work in progress posts with pictures will follow as always.

