Fyeah! Decoden phone case!

by LP

A couple of weeks ago, I was first introduced to the concept of decoden and was so entranced by it, that I immediately ordered all the things necessary so I could make my own case during summer break.

This Friday evening however, I decided that I desperately needed to do something creative, so I grabbed all the supplies, looked at the tutorial once more and decided to just go for it. All photos are clickable to embiggen, as usual:

Collage 1

On the left are all the things I needed: 100% silicone in a fancy contraption courtesy of The Big Kahuna, who is our family’s hardware expert. Then there’s a plastic bag and an icing tip, which will be used to get said silicone onto the phone case, and of course the clear phone case and the cabochons. In the middle picture you see a close up of the icing tip attached to the plastic bag with clear tape. And in the picture on the right there’s a sorta-kinda layout of the cabochons.

Collage 2

On the left you see the 100% silicone being pushed into the plastic piping bag and on the right there’s the first row of silicone icing. The icing and the placing of the cabochons was extremely stressful, I was so terrified of ruining my entire project that I even forgot to take pictures during the process. It did however turn out pretty awesome, if I may say so myself:

Collage 3

How awesome? So awesome! As you can see, I at some point just freestyled the layout, as the dimensions were quite different due to me sticking the cabochons in a more upright position into the silicone.

Collage 4

And here it is with my phone in it! Although from this angle it might look like there’s a lollypop in front of the camera opening, in reality both the camera opening and the little opening for the speaker (bottom left) are left completely unobstructed. As advised in the tutorial video that I saw, I’m going to let my case dry until the silicone doesn’t smell anymore.

I am super happy with the end result and, after a bit of stress somewhere in the middle when I thought I was doing it wrong, really enjoyed the process! Doing something practical did lift my mood enough for me to get right back into writing yet another multiple thousands of words in the coming two weeks.